Kaufman Dolowich & Voluck and EC Wise To Collaborate on California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) Risk Mitigation Services for Clients

(September 17, 2019, San Francisco, CA) — Kaufman Dolowich & Voluck LLP (KDV), a leading national law firm, and EC Wise, an international secure systems and solutions provider, announced today that they are collaborating to provide services to businesses that will be impacted when the new California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) goes into effect on January 1, 2020. CCPA imposes stringent requirements on companies that store personal information (PI) of consumers and employees and establishes harsh penalties for mismanagement of such information.

We have been working with EC Wise to develop a plan for mitigating our clients’ risks under the act and for improving clients’ ability to protect consumer privacy“, said Katherine Catlos, partner at Kaufman Dolowich & Voluck who represents employers in all phases of litigation and arbitration, including claims implicating privacy laws. “The most effective delivery of these services will include both legal and technical components. On the legal side, companies need to update their contracts with vendors, their policies and declarations and to ensure that their vendors’ management of consumer PI enables them to comply with CCPA.”

On the technical side, companies need to implement the ability to report on what PI they have as defined by the CCPA, and what they are using it for, in addition to providing the ability to delete non-essential information from their systems when requested,“, said EC Wise CEO Jack Hakim. “With the imposition of penalties for noncompliance, data breaches and the increased risk of civil suits, CCPA raises the bar for data management and security, areas in which EC Wise brings considerable expertise.”

About Kaufman Dolowich & Voluck LLP

Kaufman Dolowich & Voluck LLP is a leading national law firm serving business and insurance communities in the privacy and cyber risk arena. Our seasoned litigators and legal practitioners routinely assist clients with current and emerging privacy laws, including CCPA compliance, regulatory advice, developing and drafting policies and corporate IT security and technology polices, conducting compliance training for employees, assisting in the legal aspects of audits, preparing data retention policies, contract and arbitration agreement review, security breach, crisis responses, and litigation, as well as insurance coverage matters implicating cyber risks.

Headquartered in Woodbury, New York (Long Island), KDV serves its global clientele with additional offices in New York City, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Washington D.C., San Francisco, Los Angeles, Ft. Lauderdale and Chicago. For more information on KDV, its practice areas, offices or attorneys go to http://www.kdvlaw.com.

For further information, please contact:

New Jersey

Christopher Nucifora, Co-Managing Partner, cnucifora@kdvlaw.com; 201-708-8827

New York

Kevin Mattessich, KDV General Counsel & Co-Chair, Data Privacy & Cybersecurity Practice Group, kmattessich@kdvlaw.com; 646-599-9419

Eric Stern, Partner & Co-Chair, Data Privacy & Cybersecurity Practice Group, estern@kdvlaw.com; 516-283-8703

Chicago

Stefan Dandelles, Co-Managing Partner & Chair of Fidelity & Surety Practice Group,  sdandelles@kdvlaw.com; 312-646-6742

Florida

Thomas Morante, Partner, Chair of Insurance Regulatory & Transactional Practice Group, tmorante@kdvlaw.com; 954-302-2745

Avery Dial, Partner & Co-Chair, Data Privacy & Cybersecurity Practice Group,  adial@kdvlaw.com; 954-302-2498

San Francisco

Katherine Catlos, CIPP/US, Partner & Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer, kcatlos@kdvlaw.com; 415-926-7632

Tad Devlin, Partner, tdevlin@kdvlaw.com; 415-926-7935

Mark Koo, Special Counsel, mkoo@kdvlaw.com; 415-926-7612

 

About EC Wise

Since 1998, EC Wise has been guiding, building, operating and securing systems and securing organizations in regulated industries. Practices include secure data management, process automation, secure development, machine learning, security and privacy compliance. With experience at the U.S. Department of Defense, and 30 years’ experience in regulated industries designing data management systems, and leading security and privacy practices, CEO Jack Hakim brings significant expertise to bear in these areas. Vice President Tom Spitzer has extensive background in technology assessment and solution design, having led development of ERP and eCommerce systems for over thirty years.

Headquarters in San Rafael, EC Wise has a distributed team across the US as well as offices in Lima, Peru and Chengdu, China.

For more information on our practices  go to www.ecwise.com, for specific information on CCPA  go to https://www.ecwise.com/en/some-key-consequences-of-ccpa-why-you-need-to-start-now/ or contact Isabelle Faithauer, ifaithauer@ecwise.com; 415-527-9121